The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

October 7, 2017 - Comment

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look. Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent

Buy Now! $4.76Amazon.com Price
(as of October 18, 2017 10:14 pm CDT - Details)

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance’s holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

Comments

Candace E Kalish says:

Hilarious cross between Wolves of Willoughby Chase and Lemony S. This hilarious cross between Wolves of Willoughby Chase and Lemony S. has all the stock characters: the poor but plucky governess, the kindly housekeeper, the spoiled lady of the house, the shifty judge, and three adorable orphans. However, the twists include the inconvenient fact that the little ones tend to howl when they get excited, and the sight of a squirrel throws them into a frenzy. Then there are the fortune cookie like sayings of the governess’ idol, founder of a school for Poor…

Nanabird says:

I love this series Kudos! I started reading this series while on vacation in early January. I found it charming and entertaining as well as a bit mysterious. The characters were refreshing and funny. I loved the British-style chattiness of the author’s style. 

A. says:

Cute and Charming This book is incredibly charming and funny. I appreciate that the author is able to take a serious and a ridiculous subject (feral children and the idea of hunting them) and make it funny and lighthearted. 

Write a comment

*